I'm a student midwife!

Find out what happens after the course. What is it like at University? What about careers after that.
dagrowler

I'm a student midwife!

Post by dagrowler »

Hello,

just having a look round and saw this bit so i thought i'd post on here, i finished my DLC course in July and started at uni in Sept. There's no way i'd have been able to get into uni if it hadn't been for DLC, i simply wouldn't have been able to quit work and go to college.

Anyway, uni is AMAAAAAZING!!! and so so so so so worth it, Every single day i am amazed at the stuff i'm doing. It's brill. I really freaked myself out while i was doing DLC and thought i was too thick etc etc etc.

Any questions about DLC or uni, or applications etc. Gizza shout!

ellekaye

Re: I'm a student midwife!

Post by ellekaye »

Nice to meet you!
Which Uni are you attending? I'm a little worried about the gore of it all and wonder if that's normal and if it's just about become desensitised to it with time? What's your favourite thing? etc

Glad to hear your loving it!

dagrowler

Post by dagrowler »

Well to be honest i haven't seen much gore yet... the girl i'm on placement with saw a PPH the other day though and she said the adrenalin at the time meant that she didn't really feel weird about the gore.

I imagine you would get desensitized to it if you're squeamish. :)

It's ruddy brill, nice to meet you too! I'm at Brookes.

ellekaye

Post by ellekaye »

Sorry to sound thick, but I'm guessing PPH = post partum.... haemorrhage? hehe

I have my interview at Brookes on 9th Dec! I went to Oxford for the first time over the long weekend in October and loved it! Would definitely be happy living in Oxford for three years. One girl I work with went to Brookes (psyc) and her friends were doing Mid.. and she said they loved it. It's one of the best in the country (I'm sure you know that!!)